Annual Transformers Forum Meet Tour

Every year, since 2011, the nerds from TheTF.Net forum (now a Facebook group, because running a forum proved too much like hard work) have met for a weekend… [more]

Annual Transformers Forum Meet Tour Annual Transformers Forum Meet Tour

Our 2019 Forum Meet took place this weekend, in Cardiff

This weekend saw our annual forum meet being held in the Welsh capital of Cardiff. Each year we meet in a different town or city in the UK, alternating… [more]

Our 2019 Forum Meet took place this weekend, in Cardiff Our 2019 Forum Meet took place this weekend, in Cardiff

Video Footage from Transforce in 2001

Almost 18 years ago (crikey, has it been that long?) we wrote a review of our visit to Transforce in August 2001. It was a seriously hot day, but a great… [more]

Video Footage from Transforce in 2001 Video Footage from Transforce in 2001

Join our Autobot Alliance on Transformers Earth Wars

If you play the mobile game Transformers Earth Wars, and you're looking for a good Autobot Alliance to join, then seek us out in the game. We're called… [more]

Join our Autobot Alliance on Transformers Earth Wars Join our Autobot Alliance on Transformers Earth Wars

TheTF.Net Northern Meet

It's been six months since we last bothered updating this site. Not because we've lost our love for Transformers, but because we really can't be bothered… [more]

TheTF.Net Northern Meet TheTF.Net Northern Meet
 

Transformers Revenge of the Fallen Review

Written by Darren 'Starscream' Jamieson on June 16, 2009 | News,Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen |

88491535TW030_Transformers_Transformers Revenge of the Fallen opens in cinemas this week and TheTransformers.Net had the pleasure of attending the press screening on Monday morning, just before the UK premiere.

The first thing we should say about Transformers 2 is that, unlike the first Transformers movie, the film delivers. ROTF is everything that the first Transformers film should have been. The action is solid and well filmed, the plot makes sense, the comedy is actually funny and kept to a minimum and Optimus Prime is actually the Optimus Prime we remember.

In the first movie Optimus came off as something of a bungling weakling. He couldn’t stand up to Megatron one on one and he dropped Sam and Michaela when he was monkeying around under the bridge. Prime would never drop humans.

In this movie we get the real Optimus Prime, as is shown in the film’s opening scene where Prime takes on a Decepticon at least five times his size in China. Prime battles Megatron one on one and dominates like he should, then he takes on everyone else that happens to be around.

For those who remember listening to Stan Bush’s ‘The Touch’ and cheering as Optimus decimated the ranks of the Decepticons in the original Transformers the Movie, that’s the Prime we get in Revenge of the Fallen.

We’ve read reviews that slate the film, saying it’s too long and doesn’t wow in the same way the first film does. Yes, Michael Bay knows how to shoot film that numbs your bum, but Transformers 2 doesn’t waste a second of screen time on worthless scenes or pointless dialogue, right down the potential romantic rival Megan Fox has for Shia LaBeouf… like anyone would really cheat on Megan!

Nothing in Transformers 2 is what it seems, from Transformers switching sides to things you would never expect to transform, actually transforming.

One of the moneyshots of the films comes in the climactic sequence in Egypt when the Constructicons make their bow and merge into Devastator. He is well worth waiting for.

So what makes Transformers Revenge of the Fallen the movie that the first Transformers should have been? Firstly, as stated, Optimus Prime doesn’t have his character watered down. He’s brave, he’s tough and he’s willing to take on the entire Decepticon army if need be. Secondly there are no stupid character inconsistencies used to further the plot, like in the first film when the US military took the All Spark to a populated city for extraction.

The relationship between Shia and Megan is well played and the two have genuine chemistry, even if some of Shia’s lines towards Megan wouldn’t work in the real world. I certainly won’t be taking relationship advice from him.

The editing on the Transformers is much slower, meaning you can see what’s going on during the action and not lose track of which bot is which. That was a problem in the first Transformers.

Michael Bay has probably produced his best work in Revenge of the Fallen, and assured Transformers fans that there will be a third movie, probably in 2011.

10 Comments »

  1. ROTF delivers: Poorly shot soulless, random, pointless, action scenes ruined by shaky cam, blurry, zoomed in, 1 second, ADHD editing, with 20 different camera angles. Blatant and lazy story, plot holes, continuity errors, pacing problems, terrible cliche and excessive ad lib dialogue, horrible acting, robots emote better than the humans, Cringe inducing comedy and toilet humor that would make a 10 year old vomit in disgust.

    *************Spoilers*****************************
    .
    .
    .
    Fan favorite Transformers Soundwave, Sideswipe, Arcee, Devastator, even Bumblebee take a back seat to the horrible stereotyped, cussing, thugged out, farting, and leg humping
    Transformers. Cool new Transformers are rarely seen and have little to no dialogue. The movies’ climax is underwhelming at best due to random pointless action scenes that cause the over all flow and pace of the movie to whimper and sputter out. Lacking the edge of your seat experience expected from an action movie

    Comment by Hadron Collider — June 16, 2009 @ 10:20 pm

  2. @Hadron Collider: are you a WarnerBros plant paid to promote HarryPotter6 and spread nonsense against Transformers?

    Comment by chojin999 — June 16, 2009 @ 11:04 pm

  3. […] reviewed Transformers 2 here, and we also filmed the press conference where the director Michael Bay and the stars of the film, […]

    Pingback by Transformers Press Conference at Claridges, London, part 1 | Transformers — June 17, 2009 @ 1:42 am

  4. @Hadron Collider: Perhaps he is a studio plant, so far I’ve read 3 review site he has been on 3 of them with the same review. The Copy and Paste effect of negative feedback. Whatever they are paying you, still we are watching it.

    Why do they have hate it either they love to hate relationship with Bay or Warner Bros season opener TS is flopping in the US.

    For sure my really hot summer has arrive with big bots,guns and metal and nostalgic moments in my younger days. I’ll be enjoying every minute of it.

    Comment by penyuwan1991 — June 17, 2009 @ 3:01 am

  5. I wouldn’y worry about that negative review from ‘Hadron Collider’. Whoever wrote that clearly hasn’t seen Transformers Revenge of the Fallen. I have, and it’s brilliant.

    The scene where Optimus Prime takes on Megatron, Starscream and whoever else happens to be nearby is genius. Without giving too much away from that scene, my namesake doesn’t come off too well and is lucky that Decepticons’ limbs are easily replaced!

    Comment by Starscream — June 17, 2009 @ 11:04 am

  6. @Hadron Collider
    You suck like warner bros for paying critics to bash get a life

    Comment by TRANSFORMERS 2 WILL RUEL — June 17, 2009 @ 6:13 pm

  7. Only 2 days to go. And with this review, I’m even more excited!

    Comment by Big Bot — June 17, 2009 @ 8:56 pm

  8. You should be excited!

    One of the things I didn’t mention in the review was the character of Wheelie, who everyone was wary of. He was wicked though, one of the best Transformers in the film. I want one, plus I have a Radio Controlled truck that looks just like hime anyway… maybe I already have one?

    Comment by Starscream — June 17, 2009 @ 9:07 pm

  9. Oh yes Starscream is my favorite Transformers from G1 till now. 😀 Love to see Megs and Scream bickers like they always do.

    Comment by penyuwan1991 — June 18, 2009 @ 9:02 pm

  10. Haha the film has been out a few days now and no comments…………. You were all so quick to bash the first guy who commented but I have to say he is right on the money with the comments he made.. I mean come on Jetfire has a walking stick!! (laughable!)….. The only part I actually went “awsome” to was Soundwave.. You dont even see starscream transform and his voice is totally wrong… The film was too fast and there were huge explosions every 2 mins so u were completely underwhelmed and de-sencitised to the parts that were supposed to be spectacular..

    For the record I am a pretty big fan of TF an I loved the first movie.. I was expecting the cheese and OTT as it’s aimed at kids but serioulsy it’s one of the worst sequels I have ever seen!.. (and no Devistator is not worth the wait, it just smashes a few lumps of metal together to make a bigger lump! the only way u can tell its a combiner is cus its legs/arms etc are different colours.)….. I am so gutted this film sucked so hard. (when I saw the first film it got an applause at the end, this got groans and muttering…. says it all really)….

    Comment by Osakaa — June 21, 2009 @ 3:22 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URL

Have your say!